What’s Inside Prima Protein Bars? Ingredients, Nutrition, and Health Benefits Explained (2026)

Ingredients · all five Prima flavors

Prima Bars Ingredients: What's Inside Each Flavor

Every ingredient on every current Prima label, in label order, with the job it does in the bar. Built from Prima's own Nutrition Facts and ingredient lists.

Ingredients across five flavors
16
In every single flavor
7
On one label
9 to 12
A Prima wrapper on dark slate, surrounded by a halved coconut, a honey dipper, a bowl of pink salt, vanilla pods, coffee beans and pale cubes
  1. Coconut: organic coconut, every flavor
  2. Honey: organic raw honey, every flavor
  3. Salt: sea salt, every flavor
  4. Vanilla: organic vanilla extract, every flavor
  5. Coffee: organic coffee extract, Mocha only
Prima's own flat lay, around an earlier wrapper. The numbers match items in the photo to lines on today's labels. Photo: Prima.

The Short Version

What a Prima bar is made of

Four opened Prima bars in their current wrappers: Salted Caramel, Cacao, Cookie Dough and Mocha
Four current flavors, opened. Photo: Prima.
Protein
Grass fed bovine collagen peptides and grass fed whey protein concentrate: 21g in every 57g bar. Prima does not say how much of each.
Fats
Grass fed beef tallow, organic coconut and egg yolk, plus cocoa butter in two flavors. No seed oil on any label.
Sweeteners
Organic coconut nectar, organic coconut sugar and organic raw honey, mixed by flavor: 11 to 13g of added sugar. No sugar alcohols or artificial sweeteners.
Allergens
Milk (whey) and egg (yolk), in every flavor.

This article is part of our Complete Guide to Prima Protein Bars. If you are looking for a full buying breakdown, start with Prima Protein Bars: Everything You Need to Know Before You Buy.

01 The full label

Every ingredient, every flavor

Sixteen ingredients appear across the five labels. The number in each column is the ingredient's place on that flavor's list. US labels list ingredients by weight, heaviest first (21 CFR 101.4), so a low number means more of it. Open any row for what it is and what it does.

Job
Label

Showing all 16 ingredients.

PRIMA protein blend: grass fed bovine collagen peptides, grass fed whey protein concentrateProteinIn Cacao (1st), Mocha (1st), Salted Caramel (1st), Cookie Dough (1st), Mint Chip (1st).

On the label: Grass fed · non GMO

First on every label, so it is the largest ingredient by weight, and the source of the 21g of protein. Whey is a complete protein; collagen is not on its own. Prima does not say how much of each is in the blend, so the label cannot show how complete it is. Collagen peptide supplements have been studied for collagen synthesis and recovery from joint injury and exercise (systematic review, NCBI, PMC8521576); the bar's collagen dose is not disclosed.

Organic coconut nectarSweetenerIn Cacao (2nd), Salted Caramel (2nd), Cookie Dough (2nd).

On the label: Organic · non GMO

Sap from coconut palm blossoms, cooked into a syrup. The second ingredient, and the lead sweetener, in Cacao, Salted Caramel and Cookie Dough.

Organic raw honeySweetenerIn Cacao (9th), Mocha (2nd), Salted Caramel (3rd), Cookie Dough (9th), Mint Chip (2nd).

On the label: Organic · non GMO

In every flavor. It is the only sweetener in Mocha and Mint Chip, where it comes second; in Cacao and Cookie Dough it is ninth. Honey has been reviewed for its antioxidant and antimicrobial properties (review, NCBI, PMC12383161); Prima does not say how much honey is in a bar.

Organic coconut sugarSweetenerIn Cacao (3rd), Cookie Dough (6th).

On the label: Organic · non GMO

Coconut blossom sap boiled and dried into granules. A second sweetener in Cacao and Cookie Dough only.

Grass fed beef tallowFatIn Cacao (4th), Mocha (3rd), Salted Caramel (4th), Cookie Dough (3rd), Mint Chip (3rd).

On the label: Grass fed · non GMO

Rendered beef fat, third or fourth on every label: the main fat in the bar, in place of the seed oils many bars use. Not labeled organic.

Organic coconutFatIn Cacao (7th), Mocha (4th), Salted Caramel (6th), Cookie Dough (5th), Mint Chip (4th).

On the label: Organic · non GMO

Listed simply as organic coconut. A second fat source that also adds texture, in every flavor.

Egg yolkFatIn Cacao (8th), Mocha (7th), Salted Caramel (7th), Cookie Dough (8th), Mint Chip (6th).

On the label: Non GMO

In every flavor and one of the two allergens on every label. Not labeled organic.

Organic chocolate chips (chocolate liquor, dates, cocoa butter)FlavorIn Cacao (6th), Cookie Dough (7th).

On the label: Organic · non GMO parts

Chips made from chocolate liquor, dates and cocoa butter, in Cacao and Cookie Dough. Cocoa butter is the one extra fat source in those two flavors.

Organic cocoa powderFlavorIn Cacao (5th).

On the label: Organic · non GMO

The chocolate base of the Cacao flavor, fifth on its label.

Organic cacao nibsFlavorIn Mocha (5th), Salted Caramel (5th), Mint Chip (5th).

On the label: Organic · non GMO

Crushed cacao beans, fifth on the Mocha, Salted Caramel and Mint Chip labels.

Organic coffee extractFlavorIn Mocha (6th).

On the label: Organic · non GMO

The coffee in Mocha, sixth on its label.

Organic peppermint extractFlavorIn Mint Chip (9th).

On the label: Organic · non GMO

The mint in Mint Chip, and the last ingredient on that label.

Vanilla bean pasteFlavorIn Cookie Dough (4th).

On the label: Non GMO

Fourth on the Cookie Dough label, ahead of the coconut and the chips. Not labeled organic.

Organic vanilla extractFlavorIn Cacao (10th), Mocha (8th), Salted Caramel (8th), Cookie Dough (10th), Mint Chip (7th).

On the label: Organic

In every flavor, near the end of the list. Marked non GMO on the Cacao and Cookie Dough labels.

Sea saltFlavorIn Cacao (11th), Mocha (9th), Salted Caramel (9th), Cookie Dough (11th), Mint Chip (8th).

On the label: Non GMO

Near the end of every label, so present in small amounts by weight. Each bar has 190 to 280mg of sodium in total.

Chocolate extractFlavorIn Cacao (12th).

On the label: Non GMO

Last on the Cacao label. Not labeled organic.

Source: Prima's ingredient lists for each flavor, eatprima.com, read 20 October 2026. The protein blend is counted as one ingredient, as on the label. Wrapper photos: Prima.

Prima bars in four flavors cut open and stacked, showing the dense inside
37%

21g

protein in every flavor

Cut bars in four flavors. Photo: Prima. Protein is 37% of the bar by weight: 21g of 57g; the whey and collagen split is not disclosed.

02 Protein

Grass fed whey and collagen

The PRIMA protein blend is the first ingredient on every label: grass fed bovine collagen peptides and grass fed whey protein concentrate. Together they give each 57g bar 21g of protein.

Whey is a complete protein; collagen is not a complete protein on its own.

Prima does not publish the ratio, so the label cannot show how complete the blend is.

Collagen peptide supplements have been studied for collagen synthesis and recovery from joint injury and exercise (systematic review, NCBI, PMC8521576). Those studies used measured doses; the collagen in one bar is not disclosed, so the findings do not carry over to a bar on their own.

03 Fats

Tallow first, no seed oils

Grass fed beef tallow is third or fourth on every label and is the main fat. Organic coconut and egg yolk follow, and the chocolate chips in Cacao and Cookie Dough add cocoa butter. None of the five lists a seed oil.

  • Grass fed beef tallowEvery flavor · the main fat · not labeled organic
  • A coconut split into two halves on a marble surfaceOrganic coconutEvery flavor
  • White eggs in a dark bowl, one cracked open to show the yolkEgg yolkEvery flavor · an allergen
  • Cocoa butterInside the chocolate chips: Cacao, Cookie Dough

04 Sweeteners and sugar

Three sweeteners, mixed by flavor

There is no single sweetener. Mocha and Mint Chip use raw honey alone. Salted Caramel leads with coconut nectar, then honey. Cacao and Cookie Dough use all three. Every bar ends up with 11 to 13g of added sugar, and none uses sugar alcohols or artificial sweeteners.

Two jars of honey tipped over, honey pooling on a white surface with a wooden dipper
Photo: Ruffiana, CC BY-SA 4.0.
  • Cacaoin 2ndin 3rdin 9th13g added26% DV · 14g total
  • Mochanonoin 2nd11g added22% DV · 12g total
  • Salted Caramelin 2ndnoin 3rd12g added24% DV · 13g total
  • Cookie Doughin 2ndin 6thin 9th12g added24% DV · 15g total
  • Mint Chipnonoin 2nd12g added24% DV · 13g total

"In 2nd" is the sweetener's place on that flavor's ingredient list. Bars drawn against Cacao's 13g. Source data · Prima's labels, 20 October 2026 · Visualized by · samā·says.

Honey has been reviewed for its antioxidant and antimicrobial properties (review, NCBI, PMC12383161). Prima does not say how much honey is in a bar, so that research says little about one bar. On the label, honey, coconut nectar and coconut sugar all count as added sugar.

05 Flavor

Where each flavor comes from

The flavor ingredients sit in the middle and end of each list, after the protein, fats and sweeteners. Prima names each one rather than using a general "natural flavors" line.

  • A white bowl of crushed cacao nibs
    Cacao nibsMocha, Salted Caramel, Mint Chip. Cocoa powder and chocolate chips carry the chocolate in Cacao and Cookie Dough.Photo: Ll1324, CC0
  • A cacao pod cut in half, showing pale cacao beans inside
    Cocoa, from the cacao podCocoa powder is made from these beans: the chocolate base of Cacao, fifth on its label.Photo: Keith Weller, USDA ARS, public domain
  • A close pile of dark roasted coffee beans
    Coffee extractMocha only, sixth on its label.Photo: Sage Ross, CC BY-SA 3.0
  • A field of green peppermint plants
    Peppermint extractMint Chip only, last on its label.Photo: Rillke, CC BY-SA 3.0
  • Bundles of dark cured vanilla beans tied together
    VanillaVanilla extract in every flavor; vanilla bean paste in Cookie Dough.Photo: Mvsoa, CC0 (cropped)

06 Nutrition facts

All five labels, as printed

Pick a flavor to read its Nutrition Facts, repeated from Prima's label as printed. Protein is the same everywhere; fat, carbohydrate, sugar and sodium move.

Cacao

Nutrition Facts

Serving size1 bar (57g)

Calories240

Total Fat 9g
12%
Saturated Fat 4.5g
23%
Trans Fat 0g
Cholesterol 5mg
2%
Sodium 260mg
11%
Total Carbohydrate 20g
7%
Dietary Fiber 2g
7%
Total Sugars 14g
Includes 13g Added Sugars
26%
Protein 21g

Vitamin D 1.3mcg 6% · Calcium 100mg 8% · Iron 0.6mg 4% · Potassium 180mg 4%

Mocha

Nutrition Facts

Serving size1 bar (57g)

Calories240

Total Fat 12g
15%
Saturated Fat 7g
35%
Trans Fat 0g
Cholesterol 5mg
2%
Sodium 220mg
10%
Total Carbohydrate 14g
5%
Dietary Fiber 1g
4%
Total Sugars 12g
Includes 11g Added Sugars
22%
Protein 21g

Vitamin D 1.4mcg 8% · Calcium 80mg 6% · Iron 0.7mg 4% · Potassium 70mg 2%

Salted Caramel

Nutrition Facts

Serving size1 bar (57g)

Calories250

Total Fat 11g
14%
Saturated Fat 6g
30%
Trans Fat 0g
Cholesterol 5mg
2%
Sodium 280mg
12%
Total Carbohydrate 17g
6%
Dietary Fiber 1g
4%
Total Sugars 13g
Includes 12g Added Sugars
24%
Protein 21g

Vitamin D 1.3mcg 6% · Calcium 80mg 6% · Iron 0.7mg 4% · Potassium 120mg 2%

Cookie Dough

Nutrition Facts

Serving size1 bar (57g)

Calories240

Total Fat 10g
13%
Saturated Fat 6g
30%
Trans Fat 0g
Cholesterol 5mg
2%
Sodium 280mg
12%
Total Carbohydrate 17g
6%
Dietary Fiber 1g
4%
Total Sugars 15g
Includes 12g Added Sugars
24%
Protein 21g

Vitamin D 1.4mcg 8% · Calcium 90mg 6% · Iron 0.6mg 4% · Potassium 110mg 2%

Mint Chip

Nutrition Facts

Serving size1 bar (57g)

Calories240

Total Fat 10g
12%
Saturated Fat 5g
25%
Trans Fat 0g
Cholesterol 5mg
2%
Sodium 190mg
8%
Total Carbohydrate 17g
6%
Dietary Fiber 2g
7%
Total Sugars 13g
Includes 12g Added Sugars
24%
Protein 21g
20%

Vitamin D 1.2mcg 6% · Calcium 80mg 6% · Iron 0.5mg 2% · Potassium 60mg 2%

Source: Prima's Nutrition Facts, eatprima.com, read 20 October 2026. Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet, as the labels state.

An opened Prima Salted Caramel bar in its current wrapper on an orange background
Salted Caramel, current wrapper. Photo: Prima.

07 Allergens and claims

What the label says, and what it does not

  • Contains milk and eggWhey and egg yolk are in every flavor. The Cacao and Cookie Dough pages print "Contains: Milk, Egg".
  • Gluten freePrima's FAQ says all of its products are certified gluten free. No ingredient list includes wheat, barley or rye; the label text we read does not show a certification mark.
  • No seed oilsNone of the five ingredient lists includes a seed oil.
  • No sugar alcohols or artificial sweetenersThe only sweeteners are coconut nectar, coconut sugar and raw honey.
  • Organic, mostlyTen ingredients are labeled organic. The protein blend, tallow, egg yolk, sea salt, chocolate extract and vanilla bean paste are not, so "all organic" is not what the labels show.
  • Non GMO, nearly allThe asterisk on the labels means non GMO. It is on almost every ingredient; the vanilla extract in Mocha, Salted Caramel and Mint Chip carries no asterisk.
  • Grass fed, not pasture raisedThe collagen, whey and tallow are labeled grass fed. "Pasture raised" does not appear on the labels.

Quick answers

Frequently Asked Questions About Prima Protein Bar Ingredients

Are Prima protein bars made with real ingredients?

Every ingredient is a recognizable food or a named extract: whey and collagen, beef tallow, coconut, egg yolk, honey, coconut nectar or sugar, cocoa, coffee, peppermint, vanilla and sea salt. Most are organic, and nearly all are marked non GMO.

Do Prima protein bars contain artificial sweeteners?

No. The sweeteners are organic coconut nectar, organic coconut sugar and organic raw honey, depending on flavor. There are no sugar alcohols either. Each bar has 11 to 13g of added sugar.

Which Prima flavors are sweetened only with honey?

Mocha and Mint Chip. Salted Caramel uses coconut nectar and honey; Cacao and Cookie Dough use coconut nectar, coconut sugar and honey.

Why does Prima use beef tallow?

Tallow is Prima's main fat, used where many bars use seed oils. Prima presents it as a traditional, nutrient dense fat. We have not seen research on tallow in these bars specifically.

Is collagen a complete protein?

Collagen is not a complete protein on its own, but Prima combines it with whey protein, which is.

Are Prima protein bars good for gut health?

We know of no study of Prima bars and gut health. What the labels show: no sugar alcohols or artificial sweeteners, 1 to 2g of fiber, and milk and egg in every flavor.

Go deeper

Explore the Full Prima Guide

  1. Prima bars on a striped beach towelThe hubThe Complete Guide to Prima Protein Bars
  2. Three Prima Cacao bars stackedReviewPrima Protein Bars Review: Are They Worth It?
  3. Five opened Prima bars in their current wrappersBuyer's guidePrima Protein Bars: Everything You Need to Know Before You Buy
  4. Four opened Prima bars in their current wrappersComparisonPrima Protein Bars vs Other Protein Bars

Every ingredient, on every label, in order.

Photo credits, all via Wikimedia Commons: cacao pod, Keith Weller, USDA ARS, public domain (source); honey, Ruffiana, CC BY-SA 4.0 (source); coconut, Clockery, CC BY 3.0 (source); eggs, Cory Seward, CC0 (source); cacao nibs, Ll1324, CC0 (source); coffee beans, Sage Ross, CC BY-SA 3.0 (source); peppermint, Rillke, CC BY-SA 3.0 (source); vanilla, Mvsoa, CC0, cropped (source). Photos resized; none show Prima products. Prima product photos: Prima.

For educational purposes only. Nothing here is medical advice, consult a qualified professional before making changes to your diet. As an affiliate, samā·says may earn a commission on qualifying purchases made through links in this post.

Previous
Previous

Prima Protein Bars vs Other Protein Bars (2026): Are They Worth It Compared to Clean Alternatives?

Next
Next

Prima Protein Bars: Everything You Need to Know Before You Buy (2026 Guide)